Review: Hong Kong Beef Jerky (?)

Aji Ichiban! It’s synonymous with snacks! At least in Hong Kong it is. In the U.S., it’s synonymous with, “I don’t know what anything in this store is, can we leave now?” Sparing me that experience, my friend K.N.L. purchased me a packet of candied beef jerky. She even told the cashier that “her friend would review it for his meat blog.” The cashier looked confused, smiled and said “you have a nice day, too.” Hooray for foreign relations.

I chose a picture that makes it look even shadier, so I would appear more brave for trying it.

I chose a picture that makes it look even shadier, so I would appear more brave for trying it.

So, what did it taste like? Beef Jerky marinated in grape jelly. Let me tell you, I wasn’t opposed. Sweet and salty have met with fabulous results in every culture since time immemorial. And whatever they did made the beef less chewy and more tender, something a lot of American brands lack. I didn’t eat the whole packet, though, and I washed it down with some Four Roses Kentucky Bourbon just to be safe.

If you want to chew your own, Aji Ichiban can be found in the shadier corners of New York City, Chicago, Richardson, TX, San Gabriel, CA and Rockville, Maryland. Next time I’m trying the dried crabs.

4 Responses to “Review: Hong Kong Beef Jerky (?)”

  1. Nice review! I was wondering if you ever got up the guts to try it. 🙂 I haven’t tried the dried crabs yet, but the preserved meat and fish products there are quite exciting

  2. Hey there, thanks for the linking! Aji Ichiban’s dried crabbies really taste great =D and they look cute too!

  3. Thanks for the review. Don’t know about the grape jelly and jerky taste mixture but I’ll be sure to look for it on my next trip to chinatown or some of the beef jerky stores in New York.

  4. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website?
    My blog is in the very same niche as yours and my
    users would genuinely benefit from a lot of the information you present
    here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

