Know Your Sausage: Landjäger

Named for the “mounted hunters” in the forests of Germany, most likely for their portable nature, these dried strips of pork, beef and lard are the badass daddies of modern Beef Jerky. After the meat and spices are packed into a casing, they’re left in a sweat box for 24 hours to ferment. Then they’re smoked for at least a day, usually two. When they come out, they’re delightfully chewy, and their taste resembles that of salami. Quite simply, it’s a gourmet Slim Jim.

According to wikipedia, it’s a popular snack to eat during “treeplanting.” How big are the trees being planted that one needs to snack whilst doing it?

(thanks to Karl Ehmer Smoked Meats for the picture – go shopping for some Landjäger on their website)

10 Responses to “Know Your Sausage: Landjäger”

  1. landjager is the best if you let it dry a bit longer say 1-2 weeks in your fridge it gets even better. i have a special pet name for it: pocket sausage. cause when its really dry you can carry it in your pocket all day without even wrapping it. it’s a special snacky, pockety treat!

    when in dallas get lanjager at kuby’s.

  2. When in Seattle, you can get great Landjaeger at the Bavarian Deli inside of Pike Place market.

    I just got turned on to these, and am eating one right now with a local brown ale. Delicious.

  3. rod friedt Says:

    I would like to have the reciepe for this landjager!

  4. […] appetizers we orders the Landjager and the cured pork belly. They both arrived promptly and took up quite a bit of room. The Landjager […]

  5. A free website. Type your name and see what photocode would turn out…

    […]Know Your Sausage: Landjäger « CHOMPOSAURUS ( the meat blog )[…]…

  6. Hi there I don’t know whether or not it’s me or possibly your blog
    but it is launching slowly , it took me like a minute to load up still twitter does work absolutely .

    Well, I’m going to thank you for placing brilliant content.

    Nearly everybody who actually came to this page
    must have noticed this short article absolutely useful.
    This one is definitely excellent what you actually
    have done on this site and want to discover more articles by you.
    To obtain additional understanding from content you post, I actually have
    bookmarked this web page.

  7. I am not sure if it’s me or maybe the website but it’s starting really
    sluggish , I had to spend for a few minutes to successfully
    load still gmail does work fine . Nevertheless, Thanks for creating such
    type of superb articles. I assume it really has already been helpful
    to many individuals . I am hoping I will be able to get
    even more incredible information and I also should complement you by saying you’ve done fabulous work.
    To obtain more knowledge from articles which you post, I actually
    have saved to bookmarks this site.

  8. Hi there! Your websites are loading slowly , that went on like
    a moment to actually reload, I really dont know if it’s just simply me or maybe web site but facebook loaded acceptable for me.
    Nevertheless, I have to say thanks for placing brilliant article.
    In my opinion it really has been really useful to individual who click here.

    This is actually great what you have done and want
    to see nice posts from you. I have got you saved to my bookmarks to look at
    blog you publish.

  9. Hi there Your website loads up honestly slow if you ask me, I not really know who’s problem is
    that however flickr starts really immediate. Nevertheless, I’d like to thank you for placing awesome content.
    I’m guessing this has been beneficial to lots of
    people who arrived in this article. I must point out that
    you have done amazing job with this plus wish to see further wonderful stuff through you.
    I already have you bookmarked to check new stuff you publish.

  10. Hi there! Your website is loading slowly , this took sort of a minute
    to successfully load, I personally have no idea whether it’s just simply me or maybe your website although facebook loaded fine for me.
    However , thank you for putting up impressive article. Most people who came to this page really should have found this informative article absolutely
    handy. I’m hoping I will be able to find a lot more amazing
    information and I should really flatter you
    simply by saying you’ve done remarkable writing.
    I already have your site saved to my bookmarks to check blog you post.

Leave a Reply

