Veggie Meat Test: Tofurky Sausage

One of my major campaigns here at Chomposaurus aims to convince meatlovers that you don’t have to eat meat every meal of the day to be satisfied; in fact, eating regular vegetarian meals will make your meat eating healthier, more enoyable and better for the environment.

A major source of bad meat is your quick lunch. Whether slimy baloney from a package or supermarket-brand hot dog, lunch can mean eating meat that comes and goes without doing anyone any good. Thus, I’ll review some environmentally efficient and hopefully tasty veggie substitutes.


Today’s choice is the Tofurky Sausage, a soy and wheat gluten based product that was specifically designed to replicate the grilling habits of your common sausage species. I chose the Tomato & Basil variety.


As you can see from the picture, the links grilled very nicely on my foreman, with big black grill marks. Even the inside of the sausage looks realistic. I put Grey Poupon on one and Sweet Baby Ray’s Honey Chipotle BBQ Sauce on the other (I was out of ketchup).

The Tofurky offered perfect texture, chewy and strong like a real sausage. The taste was decent; there was plenty of zing wrapped inside, but a lack of seasoning left me feeling at times like it was an exercise in chewing more than tasting. So, while the sausages were certainly filling – and satisfied my need for that sweet foreman smokiness – they did not quite replicate the flavor of a hot dog the way a TofuPup does. I’ll have to update this article with the other flavors they make (Beer Brat, Kielbasa).

Overall, these sausages are a good bet for grilling something visually appealing for your veggie friends, but they might not completely satisfy the carnivore looking for alternatives.

3 Responses to “Veggie Meat Test: Tofurky Sausage”

  1. thanks for you kind words about our Tofurky Sausages.

    Lisa at Turtle Island Foods (makers of Tofurky).

  2. chomposaurus Says:

    Wow, are you the Official Tofurky Spokesperson? Nice.

  3. Hi, this may seem like an odd question, but I am a dietetics graduate student, and I am working on a guide to help registered dietitians counsel patients who are considering transitioning to a vegan diet. As part of that guide, I want to include photos of some of the meat-analogues available to vegans. I was hoping that I could use the photo you have taken for this page (sausages in their packaging) in my guide. The guide will be distributed free of charge to interested in patients at facilities making use of the guide, and possibly at food cooperatives in the Mid-West. If you would like, I would be happy to provide a citation with the photo attributing appropriate credit to you for taking it. If you have any questions about what I’m asking or the purpose of the guide I’m creating, don’t hesitate to let me know.

    Thank you,

    -Andrew

Leave a Reply

