Scrapplequest


What is scrapple? That’s the question I asked upon when I stumbled upon a picture of it online. Apparently, it’s “a savory mush of pork scraps and trimmings combined with cornmeal and flour” that’s fried in loaf form. Or, to put it in simpler terms, it’s like bread made out of hog offal. For those of you unfamiliar with everyday butcher’s terminology, offal includes the head, heart, liver and kidneys.

What’s most surprising regarding my discovery of this new sandwich “meat” is that it apparently is very popular in the northeastern United States, including Philly and New England. Delaware is the scrapple capital of the U.S., which matters a great deal to me because Dealware is where my ancestors landed on the shores of North American in the 17th century. Since (again according to wikipedia) scrapple was the first pork food invented in America, I suddenly feel great nostalgia and longing for it.

So, I am now on a Scrapplequest. I will eat as much of this fried organloaf as possible and discover whether it is good and, if so, what it is like. I think there is a gap in our world between the rather large presence of scrapple, its importance to our national history and our low levels of Scrappleducation.

I invite readers with scrapple recommendations or stories to comment; I will follow your advice and heed your warnings, as always.

Note: Apparently scrapple has a strong cult following in the Philadelphia area, and people there are most likely going to mock me for never having heard of it. All I can say is: this is your chance to scrappleducate the rest of us. Also, if you cooperate, I’ll make sure you get some tasty fried gator next time you come to Central Florida.

11 Responses to “Scrapplequest”

  1. This scrapple you speak of makes me want to vomit.

  2. chomposaurus Says:

    You don’t have to be so dramatic every time I bring up offal.

  3. […] ashamed to admit that my mom reads my blog. But I was surprised to get this email from her after posting about Scrapple a couple days ago: Your grandparents were both big fans of scrapple. They never forced us to eat it […]

    • Scrapple is the best ever breakfast meat!
      It is very hard to find in the south.
      I hear Food Lion carries it.
      I get mine from Winn-DIxie, in the freezer case between seafood and lunchmeat.
      The freezer that carries things like White Castle, frozen fish, and other meat dept odds and ends.

      Frozen is not good, but when it’s all you got, it’s all you got.
      You have to let it thaw in the fridge for at least a day.
      When it is still very cold, but not frozen, you cut it into slices 1/4″ to 3/8″ thick.
      Have a plate of flour handy and lightly coat each side of the slice, and drop straight onto a hot griddle.
      Evenly coat the slice, not too little or too much flour…
      Brown each side golden. Flip using a spatula that is sharp and thin… Plastic that is thick doesn’t work as well as a nice thin metal spatulla, wide enough to flip a pancake.

      Serve scrapple hot with:
      Scrambled eggs and toast… My family likes ketchup on the side with this.
      or
      Wth fluffy home made pancakes smothered in southern syrup like Golden Eagle… or Kings Syrup if you have regional access. This is my favorite way as grandma always served scrapple with pancakes and King Syrup.

      Don’t overcook, don’t use oil, don’t over/under flour, and watch out for thawing too long as frozen scapple will fall apart anc crumble when frozen then thawed too long. This is not an issue with fresh scrapple in the northeast.

  4. Scrapplefan Says:

    I found Jones brand Scrapple at a Publix here in Nashville. I prefer Habbersett’s but can’t find it. Slice it thin (not 3/4 inche thick as recommended) and it fries up crispy. Some folks like it thick coz it’s crispy outside and soft inside, but I don’t care for it that way. Too mushy.

  5. So I just came upon your article on Scrapple.

    Scrapple is one of my favorite meat-like products. As a native Philadelphian I can tell you scrapple is a wonderful and delicious part of our local cuisine.

    Generally, Scrapple is served as you would bacon. Most commonly Scrapple is served with breakfast as a side.

    Very often scrapple is served in a sandwich with eggs and cheese or as a SLT (Scrapple, lettuce and tomatoe).

    To serve cut slices of the loaf I recommend about ½ inch and pan fry. This way you get a nice crispy crust with a soft and savory center. Ketchup is welcome but unnecessary.

    Habersett is the best brand.

    Send me your email I’ll send some your way.

    Best,
    -Dan from Philly

  6. chomposaurus Says:

    Dan, you didn’t leave your email address! I’d love some Scrapple from you.

    E-mail me at Chomposaurus (at) gmail [dot] com

  7. I’m proud to say that I live a mere 45 minutes from Bridgeville, Delaware, home of Rapa Scrapple… I enjoy Scrapple every time I can, although I haven’t yet headed over for the annual Apple Scrapple Festival there.

    When you come to Delmarva, if you don’t eat Scrapple, you might as well go to Germany and bypass beer and sausage. And don’t go to Denny’s… You have to go to a firehall pancake breakfast, or better yet, look for those good old black church ladies.

    Not only will you get a thick slab of Scrapple, fried just right (crispy and dark on the outside, and moist and hot on the inside) but you’ll get a heaping helping of local color.

    I slice mine 1/4″ thick, and dust it with flour before putting it in the big black frying pan (a must!). It’s the perfect egg sandwich accompaniment. Sausage is too greasy, bacon too crumbly, and ham… well, save that for dinner.

    Slather it with maple syrup, ketchup, Tobasco sauce, grape jelly…(not at the same time, of course!) or just enjoy it “neat”….

    Mmmmm. Scrapplicious!
    Lee on Delmarva

  8. scrap pile Says:

    I was about 10 yrs. old when a friend’s dad cooked us breakfast. The scrapple smelled vile and I wanted no part of it. He made me eat it.
    Twenty minutes later I was expelling the breakfast. I had a headache and stomach ache for the next day and a half. May be the meat was tainted, but I was the only one to get sick, so I doubt it.
    The smell of scrapple brings back this memory. I can not eat it.

  9. As a native Sussex Countian, I can attest that scrapple is a way of life in SLower Lower. I am now transplanted to FL (3 years now) and can only find it frozen here which is abhorant after enjoying 46 years of RAPA. Alas, I cannot afford $81 for 12 lbs (including shipping) so frozen Jones it will be for me. Friends from home are not allowed to visit me near the Mouse House without RAPA in hand.

    Long live scrapple!!

  10. benefits of organic farming

    Scrapplequest | CHOMPOSAURUS ( the meat blog )

Leave a Reply

