Review: Turducken [cajungrocer.com]


The amazing folks at cajungrocer.com were kind enough to ship me one of their massive turduckens to test for the blog. Don’t know what a turducken is? Well, if you want to be on the front lines of the meat frontier, you should. It’s a dish consisting of a partially de-boned turkey stuffed with a de-boned duck, which itself is stuffed with a small de-boned chicken, with layers of stuffing in-between. In this case, the total creature weighed 15 lbs, with 11.5 lbs being meat.

The birds come de-boned and pre-stuffed, wrapped up nicely in a cryovac package with the legs tied. They need to cook for about 5 hours at 325; it’s a pretty easy process, considering the amount of different animals you’re cooking at once.

The only cooking fiasco can be blamed entirely on me and my stupid failure to buy a roasting pan. Instead, I constructed one using a cookie sheet and a lot of aluminum foil. It held pretty well, until I removed the birds to cover them for their last hour of cooking. Some of the foil got caught on the rack, producing a hole through which a bit of grease leaked. After some dramatic sizzling, huge amounts of smoke came gushing out and I started to ponder whether I knew how to turn the fire alarm off for the building (I do). The crisis was averted through some quick cleaning, and the turducken came out with a nice brown crispy skin.

When the bird was carved, we were at first all puzzled as to which part was which; but once we got it on our plate, chunks of duck, chicken and both types of stuffing magically appeared. You can see it best in the picture below.


The turkey came out great; you could easily substitute it for any thanksgiving bird, as the skin, texture and taste all were identical. The duck was the best of the three winged beasts; it had a bit of spice that went well with the cajun seasoning. The incredibly moist chicken also delighted, but there was less of it and it was kind of hard to distinguish from all the other things crowded around it. The stuffing, as predicted, benefited greatly from being cooked with three juicy birds, and we all liked both the cornbread and cajun varieties.


But what makes the turducken experience so crazy is the combination of all these flavors; it’s like taking everything you love about thanksgiving and baking it into a spicy loaf. I was struggling for a way to describe the utterly unique, incredibly rich flavor; it was almost like eating a slightly sweet cheese made of meat. Does that make sense? No. But neither does the turducken. It defies logic, and it must, because it is truly one of the most delicious things I’ve ever eaten.

So go ahead, shell out the $70. You will throw a party people remember forever; they will be thanking you years later for giving them the meat-eating experience of a lifetime.


Oh, and the turkey legs were good too.

11 Responses to “Review: Turducken [cajungrocer.com]”

  1. alexandria Says:

    nice review. i always thought it tasted rather inexplicably like headcheese. my twin brother– of l.a. and nyc and basically nowhere near cajun folk– went through a several year obsession with the turducken, inflicting it on many a family holiday. once we tried the easter variety. that was a mess.

    is this to be a meat product review blog? any chance you’ll review the much-vaunted bacon chocolate bar?

    my local whole foods has it, but, well, i’m a bit of a wuss.

  2. I can’t believe I missed out on this meat-feast. Looks like good times. The idea of more than three animals on a plate should offend my sensibilities, but I’m really just jealous.

  3. chomposaurus Says:

    The problem with the easter turducken was that you didn’t make it big enough. Put like 8 peeps in a life-size chocolate bunny and then you’ll have something worth eating.

  4. [...] spicier, which I can’t argue with. It’s been four days and I still have plenty left (even after ten people attacked the roast the night I made it), so I’m definitely getting my money’s [...]

  5. This week is the Week of the Nestbox in the Netherlands. Bird protection group Vogelbescherming Nederland calls on everyone to hang birdhouses on their property in time for the breeding season, and to take note of nesting activity on their property. The group wants to make gardens and parks more attractive for bird nests while at the same time to get more people interested in birds and their protection. In the Netherlands today, is fashionable to have a completely paved garden. More often wood fences are used to delineate property, replacing the hedges of yore. These changes have a negative impact on the songbirds that would typically nest in the hedges and search for food on grassy lawns.

    • Sure, a squab filled with a blue jay filled with a sparrow. Would be a bitch to debone the little buggers. What temp do we cook it at so that we don not overcook the squab and make it nasty?

  6. chomposaurus Says:

    Are you suggesting we make a turducken out of cardinals and bluejays?

  7. kingbiscuitpants Says:

    My wife & I make turduckins from scratch every thanksgiving (we’re both chefs) with a different stuffing & marinade/rub for each bird. We’ve done this for 5 years in a row and did all of our deboning each time (mostly because we’re cheap but the deboing is a bitch & a half) but the best thing is turducken stock boilded down from the 3 carcassas. We get crazy and turn it into a turduckin itallian wedding soup with lamb & beef meatballs.

  8. DOES THE TURDUCKEN COME IN A BIGGER SIZE?????

  9. When my buddy sent me an email explaining how over the holidays he had been to San Francisco with friends, and tried a new wild game treat called ‘Turducken’ – a combination of meats.

    What he failed to make clear was that the three meats were Turkey, Duck and Chicken.
    And what really complicated matters were that in his haste of typing he evidently added a letter ‘f’ while typing the adjacent ‘d’ key, and created a very different impression in my mind of how his time in San Francisco had been.

    What would you have thought?

    “…Went to San Francisco with some friends over the holidays and tried this new wild game thing called ‘Turdfucken’ – a combination of meats.”

    I kinda got the impression he had gotten a little funny on me, been to some really crazy party, and/or maybe replaced ‘Rice-A-Roni’ as the San Francisco treat.

    In any event, if you decide you like the taste of Turkey, Duck and Chicken prepared together, you might want to be careful how you describe it in your emails to friends, and just a little reminder that the ‘f’ key is right next to the ‘d’ key on your keyboard!

  10. Carl R Penrod Says:

    I have used Cajun Grocers for 3 years now, never again. I ordered a turducken roll for Christmas and I accidentally punched in the wrong street address. When I found out my mistake, Cajungrocers wanted to charge me $15 to change the address label. I tried to contact UPS directly and they said it hadn’t been shipped yet. I recontacted Cajungrocers again and they said it was on the truck to be delivered. I told them that I would not pay $15 to change the label and to go ahead and deliver it to the wrong address and maybe they would enjoy the turducken enough to become a customer because they lost me as one. I will NEVER use Cajungrocers again because of their lousy customer service.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

